Houzz Logo Print
barlini1

How do I dress up Restoration Hardware Neutral? I love color.

barlini1
6年前

My boyfriend loves the Restoration Hardware look. I love it to but it is a very rigid and a VERY neutral palette. I love color and he has encouraged me to put my signature on the space. How can I do that without overriding the look or worse yet, clashing with it.

コメント (2)

• PRO
    Red Plum Design Inc.
    6年前

Using the Restoration Hardware neutral palette for furniture can be an excellent way to have furniture that has a timeless feel, while giving you the option to add bold colours in wall paint and accessories. Selecting a very bold area rug with a large pattern or motif will add strength to the look, as will an intense wall colour such as navy, mustard, fuchsia... or any other bold colour you love will add character.

• PRO
    colorific
    6年前

hi "barlini" -

i'm an architectural color consultant and i help clients find the colors that work for them – and it may sound funny, but "go with your gut" is often the best advice i can give folks. so what does that mean in your situation?

first, since you're starting with a neutral palette, theoretically adding color is somewhat straightforward, because your foundation is, well, neutral.

so, how to go about layering in color? i'd start with just a few additions, like pillows, throws and items that make the furniture pieces feel "comfy". for example, on the couch, you could add 3 pillows (different sizes, shapes and textures) and a throw that coordinates with the pillows.

pick a "color family" that you like (i.e. blues, greens, yellows) and find pieces that are in that family that all work together. even RH has color decor that will work with their furniture pieces – and that may be the easiest way to go because then you don't have to worry about whether the "undertones" in the furniture pieces and the pillows, etc. work together – they've already done that work for you.