Houzz Logo Print
paigekakert

Cover old kitchen tile???

I'm purchasing a home built in 1934. I'm no expert by any means, but the house has old tile throughout the kitchen. You can tell it's been painted over and over throughout the years. It's a horrid yellow color now that I need gone. I don't want to add another layer of paint and I don't want to strip it. I was thinking I could cover with beadboard, fake brick/stone.... ideas? Advice? Help?!? The cabinets will be redone and getting new countertop. Also adding peel and stick backsplash to area of white tile.

コメント (10)

• Paige Kakert
    質問の投稿者
    7年前

Thanks for your reply MLB Design Group. Here is my situation: I'm 22 years old and this is my first home. Being a home owner at 22, I will not have the funds necessary to tear out and repair. Being the age I am, I don't expect to be here more the 5 years at the longest. This is why I was considering something to just cover right now.

• PRO
    Lisette Young Interiors
    7年前

What color/style/material will your peel and stick be? Personally I wouldn't want to break up an already tight kitchen. Keeping with the same material or color all through out will make it seem more expansive.

• holly98
    7年前

Darling kitchen. Know you don't want to paint tiles again, but since you are on a budget, I still recommend doing that to the yellow tiles. I advise against any peel and stick anything. You may be in this house longer than you think and want to upgrade later. Make it easy to do that for you and possible prospective buyer.

I can see your cabinets in a light blue and keep the counter if it is in good shape. Check out http://retrorenovation.com/ for inspiration for your era kitchen.

• PRO
    Beth H. :
    7年前
    最終更新:7年前