I know they're not done with the job yet, but my wife and I really don't
know if this is something that can be salvaged or if we're just being
paranoid and it will all look better after the grout is in. Should we
be concerned?

Thanks for any help or advice!

コメント (23)

• User
    8年前

I'm no expert, and have only had tile work done for me, but I'd be worried about the misalignments and gaps.

I'm interested to read what others have to say, because if we can get our bathroom redone, I would love those relief niches, too.

Good luck!

• jerzeegirl (FL zone 9B)
    8年前

I would have wanted either some kind of bullnosing or mitered edging or schluter trim around the niches. I don't see how the grout will make up for the unevenness.

• Errant_gw
    8年前

I would not be happy with that. Hopefully one of our resident tile experts will chime in and let you know what needs to be done :)

• Fori
    8年前

I can't opine on most, but that first photo looks bad. I'd like those tiles above the niche to line up better.

• User
    8年前

The cuts are rough, corners aren't square, mosaics aren't installed square/true, nothing lines up, grout lines are uneven, gaps are too big and the bottom of the niche isn't level. Yes - it's a terrible tile job.

• millworkman
    8年前

If the visible portion is that poor, I can only imagine what is behind it!!

• cpartist
    8年前

Plus, I would want the large tiles to line up in the center of the niches if possible. Unless they are equal distance on the sides of the shower. Yes it's a poor job and not acceptable. That top tile hanging down and not lining up is awful.

• catbuilder
    8年前

Be concerned.

• jerzeegirl (FL zone 9B)
    8年前

Those big tiles are really hard to install because they are so heavy and they can slip down which may be what happened. If it were me, I would tell him to stop and not grout.

• geoffrey_b
    8年前

They need to use Schluter or bullnose around the niches. Also you can see the cut edge is not smooth.